top of page
Search
Tom Hitchcock

Raising my sights

After six novels in the thriller/mystery/drama genre, most of them set in whole or in part on Amelia Island, I've decided to reach higher, stretch my writer's wings. I read a historical fiction novel set in WW2, All the Light We Cannot See. I was amazed and overwhelmed by its artistry. Never having written anything even close to it, I was actually diminished by it. And so thought, instead of trying to equal it, which is unrealistic, maybe the best I could do was imitate it. To that end I'm about halfway through Lifeline, a historical fiction novel also set during World War 2. It follows the narratives of three families, one in Germany, one in England, and a group of relatives and neighbors in Virginia. The stories weave back and forth, and will intersect in different ways at varying times. It's difficult and takes a ton of research, but that's kind of the point.



4 views0 comments

Comments


bottom of page